The IMI Biennial Survey is now open! We appreciate your participation - it takes approx 8 minutes to complete. Take Survey Now

GPC Organisers

The following is a list of organisers who were involved in the 2016-2017 GPC Series.

Executive Committee

The GPC Series was organised by a Central Organising Group (COG). The COG is led by an ​Executive Committee of six people.

The Executive Committee was appointed by the Board of IMI and was responsible for leading, supporting and overseeing the implementation of the GPC Series.

It met on a weekly basis and is run by a Chairman, a Coordinator, the head of an Academic Committee, and a Professional Conference Organiser (PCO): ​


Chair: Michael McIlwrath (IT​)
Global Chief Litigation Counsel, LitigationGE Oil & Gas
​​Director of IMI
Click here for his IMI director profile. ​


Coordinator: Jeremy Lack (CH, GB & US)
ADR Neutral & Attorney-at-Law,
Vice President of IMI’s Independent Standards Commission
Click here for his IMI ​profile.


Chair of Academic Committee: Prof. Barney Jordaan (BE, NL, CH)
Professor of Management Practice, Vlerick Business School
Director of Association for the Promotion of Mediation as an Academic Discipline, NCMG Int.
Click here​ for his IMI profile​
Influencer (Academic)


Professional Conference Organiser
Representative: Dan Rivlin (CH, IL)

CEO, Kenes Group International
Miscellaneous (PCO)


Sponsor Representative: Alexander Oddy (GB)
Partner, Herbert Smith Freehills, London
Vice President of IMI’s
Independent Standards Commission


​Professor Nadja Alexander
Academic Director, Singapore International Dispute Resolution Academy


Kenes Group

Advisory Board

The COG Executive Committee was assisted by a COG Advisory Board of more than 60 people that met on a monthly basis via Internet and is run by the Coordinator of the COG Executive Committee (Jeremy Lack). It consisted of:

  • One representative appointed by each Local Organising Committee (LOC)
  • One representative appointed by each General Partner
  • One representative appointed by each Sponsor, and
  • The COG’s Academic Committee.​

The COG Advisory Board’s provided input to the COG Executive Committee, enabled all LOCs to be in contact with one-another on a regular basis, and shared information with other LOCs and General Partners. It also provided feedback and raised issues for the COG Executive Committee that required decisions at a global level. It is consulted on all core questions and documents prepared by the LOC Executive Committee.

Academic Committee
The COG Advisory Board formed a committee of academic experts on all traditional forms of dispute resolutions. The Academic Committee was asked to oversee the quality of the data gathered and verify its statistical relevance. This Committee was headed by Prof. Barney Jordaan and included the following ADR experts:  ​
  • Prof. Barney Jordaan (Belgium)
  • Dr. Amel Abdallah (Oman)
  • Dr. Dalma R. Demeter (Australia)​
  • Prof Ann-Sophie De Pauw (Belgium, France)
  • Dr. Remy Gerbay (UK & USA)​
  • Dr. Geneviève Helleringer (France & UK)
  • Ms. Daniel​le Hutchinson​ (Australia)
  • Prof. Joel Lee/Lee Tye Beng (Singapore)
  • Ms. ​Emma-May Litchfield (Australia)
  • Prof. Amel Kamel (Oman)
  • Prof. Lela Love (USA)
  • Prof. Ian MacDuff (Ne​w Zealand)
  • Prof. Peter Phillips (USA)
  • Prof. Alan Rycroft (South Africa)
  • Prof. Donna Shestowsky (USA)
  • Prof. Alain Laurent Verbeke (Belgium)
Ex-Officio and Support


IMI Chair: Deborah Masucci (US)
Formerly Head of the Dispute Resolution Program at American International Group, Inc.
User & Provider


IMI Executive Director: Irena Vanenkova (RU)
Formerly Public Relations Manager of IKEA Russia (1999-2006)
Miscellaneous (NGO)


IMI Operations Manager: Emma Ewart (NZ)
Formerly Executive Assistant to the CEO of Resolex (UK)
Miscellaneous (NGO)


Kenes Accounts Manager, GPC Series: Eric Ben-Harrous (IL)
Kenes International Group
Miscellaneous (PCO)


COG Advisory Board Coordinator: Bryan Branon (US)
Research Fellow at ADR Center Spa
Provider & Miscellaneous (Academic)


COG Advisory Board Coordinator: Jory Canfield (US)
Attorney & Dispute Resolution Practitioner
ABA ADR Fellow
Former consultant to High Court of Uganda
​Provider, Advisor & Miscella​neous (Trainer)

Local Organising Committees

Each event was organised by a Local Organising Committee (LOC). Each LOC appoints its own Chair, Coordinator, Treasurer and Representative to the COG Advisory Board.

Below is a the list of the 2016-2017 GPC Series LOCs and their primary contact people. For questions relating to a particular LOC or local GPC Series event, please use the corresponding email address indicated in the table below.​

Country​CityContact / COG Coordinator
AustraliaSydneyMs. Fiona Hollier
[email protected]​
BrasilSao PauloMs. Fernanda Levy
[email protected]
CanadaTorontoMr. Thierry Bériault
[email protected]
FranceParisMs. Diana Paraguacuto-Mahéo
[email protected]
GermanyBerlinMr. Felix Wendenburg
[email protected]
​Republic of Guatemala​GuatemalaMs. ​María Andrea Yon
[email protected]
Hong KongHong KongMs. Anita Phillips
[email protected]
​India​ChandigarhMr. Anil Xavier​​
[email protected]​​​​​​​​​
ItalyFlorenceMs. Tondini Chiara​​
[email protected]
MexicoMexico CityMr. Fernando Navarro
[email protected]
NetherlandsAmsterdamMs. ​​​Karin Merkx​
[email protected]
New ZealandAucklandMs. Catherine Cooper
[email protected]
NigeriaLagosMr. Andi Daze
[email protected]
PolandWarsawMs. Ewa Gmurzynska
[email protected]
​Russia​MoscowMs. Ekaterina Smolyannikova
[email protected]
SingaporeSingaporeMr. Seng Onn Loong
[email protected]
​South Africa​Johannesburg​Ms. Marion Shaer
[email protected]
SpainBarcelonaMr. Juan Antonio Ruiz Garcia
[email protected]
SpainMadridMr. Antonio Sanchez-Pedreno
[email protected]
SwitzerlandGenevaMrs. Stephanie Heurtier​
[email protected]
​Thailand​Bangkok​Ms. Nattinee Netraumpai
[email protected]
UAEDubaiMr. Craig Shepherd
[email protected]
UKLondonMr. Andy Rogers
[email protected]
USAAustin (Texas)Ms. Kimberlee Kovach
[email protected]
​USA​Mid-AtlanticMr. Emmett Ward
[email protected]
USALos Angeles (CA)Ms. Kathleen Pierz
[email protected]
USAMiami (Florida)Ms. Kathleen Pierz
[email protected]
USANew York CityMs. Kathleen Pierz
[email protected]
USASan Francisco (CA)Ms. Kathleen Pierz
[email protected]